NSLS-II   |   CFN   |   Brookhaven National Laboratory

2004 NSLS Users' Meeting

Workshops

The program of one-day workshops will focus on specific scientific topics and techniques of interest to the synchrotron community. The workshops currently planned are listed below. Follow the link for each workshop for more information.

 


Monday, May 17, 2004
   
Workshop 1 Better Ways to See the Light: Advanced Detectors for Synchrotron Radiation
Organizer(s): Peter Siddons, BNL (siddons@bnl.gov) Gianluigi De Geronimo, BNL (degeronimo@bnl.gov)
Bldg. 555, Chemistry, Hamilton
Workshop 2 Anatomy of a Virus
Organizer(s): Marc Allaire, BNL (allaire@bnl.gov) Paul Freimuth, BNL (freimuth@bnl.gov)
Bldg. 463, Biology, Lg Seminar Rm
Workshop 3 Grazing Incidence Small Angle Scattering
Organizer(s): Ben Ocko, BNL (ocko@bnl.gov) Detlef Smilgies, Cornell University (dms79@cornell.edu)
Bldg. 510, Physics, Lg Seminar Rm
Workshop 4 Pharmaceutical Applications of Synchrotron Radiation
Organizer(s): Evgenyi Shalaev, Pfizer Inc. (evgenyi_y_shalaev@groton.pfizer.com Raj G. Suryanarayanan, College of Pharmacy (surya001@tc.umn.edu) Peter Stephens, SUNY Stony Brook (pstephens@notes.cc.sunysb.edu)
Bldg. 490, Medical Seminar Rm


Wednesday, May 19, 2004
   
Workshop 5 Advanced Optical Systems and Metrology for High Power and Coherent Beamlines
Organizer(s): Peter Takacs, BNL (takacs@bnl.gov) Steve Hulbert, BNL (hulbert1@bnl.gov)
Bldg. 555, Chemistry, Hamilton
Workshop 6 Applications of Synchrotron Based Methods to Hydrogen Storage Materials
Organizer(s): Trevor Tyson, NJIT (tyson@adm.njit.edu) Wolfgang Caliebe, BNL (caliebe@bnl.gov)
Bldg. 463, Biology, Lg Seminar Rm
Workshop 7 Nanoprobes for Nanoscience
Organizer(s): Cecilia Sanchez-Hanke, BNL (hanke@bnl.gov) Peter Sutter, BNL (psutter@bnl.gov)
Bldg. 510, Physics, Lg Seminar Rm
Workshop 8 Crystallization, Membrane Proteins
Organizer(s): Naomi Chayen, Imperial College of Science, Technology & Medicine (n.chayen@ic.ac.uk) Vivian Stojanoff, BNL (stojanof@bnl.gov)
Bldg. 725, NSLS Seminar Rm