NSLS-II   |   CFN   |   Brookhaven National Laboratory

2011 NSLS/CFN Joint Users' Meeting

Workshops

The program of five full-day and two half-day workshops will focus on specific scientific topics and techniques of interest to the synchrotron and nanoscience communities. Follow the link for each workshop for more information.

 


Monday, May 23, 2011
   
Workshop 1 Nano-machines in Health and Disease
Organizer(s): Francis T. F. Tsai (Baylor College of Medicine), ftsai@bcm.edu; Sukyeong Lee (Baylor College of Medicine), slee@bcm.edu
Berkner Hall, Bldg. 488, Conf. Rm. B
Workshop 2 Advances in Synchrotron Methods for Catalysis and Surface Science Research
Organizer(s): David Starr (CFN/BNL), dstarr@bnl.gov; Dario Stacchiola (Chemistry/BNL), djs@bnl.gov; Jurek Sadowski (CFN/BNL), sadowski@bnl.gov; and Sanjaya Senanayake (Chemistry/BNL), ssenanay@bnl.gov
Chemistry, Bldg. 555, Hamilton Seminar Rm.
Workshop 3 Optical Studies of Solar Nanomaterials: From Single-Molecules to Devices
Organizer(s): Mircea Cotlet (CFN/BNL), cotlet@bnl.gov; Mathew Maye, (Syracuse University), mmmaye@syr.edu; Zhihua Xu (CFN/BNL), zxu@bnl.gov; Matthew Sfeir (CFN/BNL), msfeir@bnl.gov; Qin Wu (CFN/BNL), qinwu@bnl.gov
CFN, Large Seminar Rm.
Workshop 4 Supplemental Meeting for SCC Investigators
Organizer(s): Anatoly Frenkel, Yeshiva University, frenkel@bnl.gov
Berkner Hall, Bldg. 488, Conf. Rm. C


Wednesday, May 25, 2011
   
Workshop 5 Data Acquisition for Fluorescence Imaging and Spectroscopy
Organizer(s): Bruce Ravel (NIST/NSLS), bravel@bnl.gov; Ryan Tappero (NSLS/BNL), rtappero@bnl.gov
Berkner Hall, Bldg. 488, Conf. Rm. B
Workshop 6 Epitaxial Graphene - From Science to Applications
Organizer(s): Peter Sutter (CFN, BNL), psutter@bnl.gov; Eli Sutter (CFN, BNL), esutter@bnl.gov
CFN, Bldg. 735, Large Conf. Rm.
Workshop 7 X-ray Diffraction and Spectroscopy to Study Dynamic Phenomena under Extremes
Organizer(s): Alexander Goncharov (Carnegie Institution of Washington) goncharov@gl.ciw.edu; Vitali Prakapenka (University of Chicago) prakapenka@cars.uchicago.edu; Lars Ehm (Stony Brook University/NSLS) lars.ehm@stonybrook.edu
Chemistry, Bldg. 555, Hamilton Seminar Rm.
Workshop 8 InSynC Workshop (2-day Workshop)
Organizer(s): Scott Bronson (OEP-BNL), sbronson@bnl.gov; Antonio Lanzirotti (University of Chicago), lanzirotti@bnl.gov; Lisa Miller (PS-BNL), lmiller@bnl.gov
NSLS, Bldg. 725, Conf. Rm. A


Thursday, May 26, 2011
   
Workshop 9 INCREASE
Organizer(s): Noel Blackburn, OEP-BNL, blackburn@bnl.gov
Berkner Hall, Bldg. 488, Conf. Rm. B