NSLS-II   |   CFN   |   Brookhaven National Laboratory

2012 NSLS/CFN Joint Users' Meeting

Workshops

Click her to view Workshop Summaries


Workshops 1 and 2 are full-day workshops. Part 1 will be held on Monday, May 21, and Part II on Tuesday, May 22.
All workshops held on Monday, May 21 and Tuesday, May 22, are scheduled from 1:30 pm - 5:30 pm.
Workshops held on Wednesday are full-day workshops.

 


Monday, May 21, 2012
   
Workshop 1 Organic Materials at Nanoscale: Physics and Applications (Part I)
Organizer(s): Jurek Sadowski, CFN/BNL, sadowski@bnl.gov, Elio Vescovo, BNL, evescovo@bnl.gov
Berkner Hall, Bldg. 488, Conf. Rm. B
Workshop 2 Unique Tools for Energy Research: Chemical Analysis of Nanostructures using Electron Energy Loss Spectroscopy (EELS) and Energy-Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy (EDS) (Part I)
Organizer(s): Fernando Camino, CFN/BNL, fcamino@bnl.gov, Dong Su, CFN/BNL, dsu@bnl.gov
CFN, Bldg. 735, Large Conference Rm.
Workshop 3 Nanotechnology in Bacterial Biofilm Research (Half-day Workshop)
Organizer(s): Saion Sinha, ssinha@newhaven.edu
Berkner Hall, Bldg. 488, Conf. Rm. A


Tuesday, May 22, 2012
   
Workshop 1 Organic Materials at Nanoscale: Physics and Applications (Part II)
Organizer(s): Jurek Sadowski, CFN/BNL, sadowski@bnl.gov
Berkner Hall, Bldg. 488, Conf. Rm. B
Workshop 2 Unique Tools for Energy Research: Chemical Analysis of Nanostructures using Electron Energy Loss Spectroscopy (EELS) and Energy-Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy (EDS) (Part II)
Organizer(s): Fernando Camino, CFN/BNL, fcamino@bnl.gov; Dong Su, CFN/BNL, dsu@bnl.gov
CFN, Bldg. 735, Large Conference Rm.
Workshop 4 Near-Field Infrared Microspectroscopy for Nanoscience: Methods, Instruments and Sources (Half-day Workshop)
Organizer(s): Larry Carr, carr@bnl.gov; co-organizers: Adrian Gozar, agozar@bnl.gov; Matt Sfeir, msfeir@bnl.gov; Eli Stavitski,istavitski@bnl.gov; Lisa Miller, lmiller@bnl.gov
NSLS, Bldg. 725, Seminar Rm.
Workshop 5 New Developments in High Resolution Electron Spectroscopy (Half-day Workshop)
Organizer(s): Nils Martensson, Uppsala University, Sweden, Nils.Martensson@fysik.uu.se
Hamilton Seminar Room, Chemistry Bldg. 555


Wednesday, May 23, 2012
   
Workshop 2 Unique Tools for Energy Research: Chemical Analysis of Nanostructures using Electron Energy Loss Spectroscopy (EELS) and Energy-Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy (EDS) (Hand-on Session) (Part III)
Organizer(s): Fernando Camino, CFN/BNL, fcamino@bnl.gov; Su Dong, CFN/BNL, dsu@bnl.gov
CFN, Bldg. 735, Large Conference Rm.
Workshop 6 Synchrotron Techniques in Microelectronics Research (Half-day Workshop)
Organizer(s): Abdul K. Rumaiz (PS/BNL), Jean Jordan-Sweet (IBM), Peter Siddons (PS/BNL), Jun Wang (PS/BNL) and Joseph Woicik (NIST)
NSLS, Bldg. 725, Seminar Rm.
Workshop 7 Applications of Synchrotron Techniques in Plant Biology
Organizer(s): Tony Lanzirotti, University of Chicago, Lanzirotti@uchicago.edu, Tracy Pushon, Darmouth College, tracy.punshon@dartmouth.edu
Berkner Hall, Bldg. 488, Conf. Rm. A
Workshop 8 Spin-Orbit Coupling in Condensed Matter: Topological Insulators and Related Materials
Organizer(s): Tonica Valla, CMPMSD/BNL, valla@bnl.gov,
Berkner Hall, Bldg. 488, Conf. Rm. C
Workshop 9 X-Ray Beam Position Monitors: Hardware and Experience
Organizer(s): John Smedley, IO/BNL, smedley@bnl.gov; Petr Ilinsky, PS/BNL, pilinski@bnl.gov; Lonny Berman, PS/BNL, berman@bnl.gov; Peter Siddons, PS/BNL, siddons@bnl.gov; Kazimierz Gofron, PS/BNL, kgofron@bnl.gov
Berkner Hall, Bldg. 488, Conf. Rm. B