2013 NSLS/CFN Joint Users' Meeting

Workshops

 


Monday, May 20, 2013
   
Workshop 1 Single Molecule Microscopy Tools for Life Science and Materials Science
Organizer(s): Mircea Cotlet, Center for Functional Nanomaterials (CFN-BNL), cotlett@bnl.gov; Helmut Strey, Biomedical Engineering Dept. Stony Brook University, helmut.strey@stonybrook.edu
Center for Functional Nanomaterials (CFN), Bldg. 735, Large Conference Room
Workshop 2 Frontiers of X-ray and Electron Imaging
Organizer(s): Wah-Keat Lee, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), wklee@bnl.gov; Feng Wang, Sustainable Energy Technologies (ST-BNL), fwang@bnl.gov; Jun Wang, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), junwang@bnl.gov; and Yong Chu, Photon Sciences (PS-BNl), ychu@bnl.gov
Berkner Hall, Conference Room B
Workshop 3 Forty Years of the NSLS: From Conception through Commissioning and becoming a World Leader in Synchrotron Radiation Science
Organizer(s): Cecilia Sanchez Hanke, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), hanke@bnl.gov; Peter Siddons, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), siddons@bnl.gov; Larry Carr, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), carr@bnl.gov; Klaus Attenkofer, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), kattenkofer@bnl.gov; and Vivian Stojanoff, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), stojanof@bnl.gov
Chemistry Bldg. 555, Hamilton Seminar Room


Wednesday, May 22, 2013
   
Workshop 4 Charge Transfer on the Nanoscale
Organizer(s): Qin Wu, Center for Functional Nanomaterials, CFN-BNL, qinwu@bnl.gov; John Miller Chemistry Department, CO-BNL, jrmiller@bnl.gov
Center for Functional Nanomaterials (CFN), Bldg. 735, Large Conference Room
Workshop 5 Alan Alda Center for Communicating Science Workshops: "Improvisation for Scientists" and "Distilling Your Message"
Organizer(s): Valeri Lantz-Gefroh, Center for Communicating Science, Stony Brook University School of Journalism
Berkner Hall, Conference Rooms A, B and C
Workshop 6 Applications of Soft X-rays for Critical Energy Science and Technology
Organizer(s): Sanjaya D. Senanayake Chemistry Department (CO-BNL), ssenanay@bnl.gov; Kyung-Wan Nam, Chemistry Department (CO-BNL), knam@bnl.gov; Faisal Alamgir, Georgia Tech, faisal@mse.gatech.edu; Dario Arena, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), darena@bnl.gov
Chemistry Bldg. 555, Hamilton Seminar Room


Monday, May 19, 2014
   
Workshop 1 Momentum-Resolved Study of Low Energy Dynamics in Solids with Synchrotron Radiation: From Inelastic X-ray Scattering to Near-field Infrared Spectroscopy
Organizer(s): Larry Carr, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), carr@bnl.gov Yong Cai, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), cai@bnl.gov Ignace Jarrige, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), jarrige@bnl.gov
 
Workshop 2 Complex Functional Materials: Probing the Meso-Scale Structural Organization and the System Dynamics with Soft X-ray
Organizer(s): Konstantine Kaznatcheev, Photon Sciences, (PS-BNL),kaznatch@bnl.gov Oleg Gang, Center for Functional Nanomaterials (CFN-BNL), ogang@bnl.gov