NSLS-II   |   CFN   |   Brookhaven National Laboratory

2014 NSLS/NSLS-II & CFN Joint Users' Meeting

Workshops

Workshop Summaries and Talks

Please visit the workshop page for the summary and talks.

 

 


Monday, May 19, 2014
   
Workshop 1 Momentum-Resolved Study of Low Energy Dynamics in Solids with Synchrotron Radiation: From Inelastic X-ray Scattering to Near-field Infrared Spectroscopy
Organizer(s): Larry Carr, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), carr@bnl.gov; Yong Cai, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), cai@bnl.gov; Ignace Jarrige, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), jarrige@bnl.gov
Berkner Hall, Conference Room B
Workshop 2 Complex Functional Materials: Probing the Meso-Scale Structural Organization and the System Dynamics with Soft X-ray
Organizer(s): Konstantine Kaznatcheev, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), kaznatch@bnl.gov; Oleg Gang,Center for Functional Nanomaterials (CFN-BNL),ogang@bnl.gov
Center for Functional Nanomaterials (CFN), Bldg. 735, Large Conference Room
Workshop 3 Exploring the Pivotal Role of Next Generation X‐rays in Bridging the Scale‐Gaps in Next Generation Energy Materials under Extremes
Organizer(s): Nick Simos, Nuclear Science and Technology Department (BNL), simos@bnl.gov; Juergen Thieme, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), jthieme@bnl.gov; Hanfei Yan, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), hyan@bnl.gov
Chemistry Bldg. 555, Hamilton Seminar Room


Wednesday, May 21, 2014
   
Workshop 4 Radiation Effects at X‐ray Doses From MegaGrays to PetaGrays and Above – The Impact for Science at NSLS‐II
Organizer(s): Sean McSweeney, Photon Sciences (PS-BNL), smcsweeney@bnl.gov; Keith Jones, Environmental Sciences Department(BNL),jones@bnl.gov; Sergei Lymar, Chemistry Department (BNL), lymar@bnl.gov; Dean Hesterberg, NC State, Raleigh, dean_hesterberg@ncsu.edu
Chemistry Bldg. 555, Hamilton Seminar Room
Workshop 5 Synchrotron‐based Probes for Studying the Interactions between Living Systems and the Environment
Organizer(s): Lisa Miller, (Photon Science-BNL), lmiller@bnl.gov; Ryan Tappero, (Photon Science-BNL), rtappero@bnl.gov; Juergen Thieme, (Photon Science-BNL), jthieme@bnl.gov; Ben Babst (Biosciences-BNL), bbabst@bnl.gov; Martin Schoonen, (Environmental Sciences-BNL), mschoonen@bnl.gov
Berkner Hall, Conference Room B
Workshop 6 In Situ Probes for Investigating Solar Energy Conversion
Organizer(s): Fernando Camino, Center for Functional Nanomaterials (CFN-BNL),fcamino@bnl.gov Mingzhao Liu, Center for Functional Nanomaterials (CFN-BNL), mzliu@bnl.gov Matthew Eisaman, Sustainable Energy Technologies Department, meisaman@bnl.gov Matthew Sfeir, Center for Functional Nanomaterials (CFN-BNL), msfeir@bnl.gov Richard Matyi, SUNY College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering, rmatyi@albany.edu
Center for Functional Nanomaterials (CFN), Bldg. 735, Large Conference Room