NSLS-II   |   CFN   |   Brookhaven National Laboratory

Workshop 9:  Accelerating Research on Two-Dimensional Material Heterostructures for Quantum Information Science

Date: Wednesday, May 22, 2019

Organizer(s): Gregory Doerk (CFN/BNL), Philip Kim (Harvard University), Claudio Mazzoli (NSLS-II/BNL), Jurek Sadowski (CFN/BNL), Mark Dean (CMPMSD/BNL), Stuart Wilkins (NSLS-II/BNL)

Location: Center for Functional Nanomaterials (CFN) Bldg. 735


Two dimensional (2D) van der Waals materials including graphene, boron nitride, and transition metal dichalcogenides (e.g. MoS2, WSe2) provide a toolbox for design of next-generation architectures with optical and electronic properties engineered for quantum information science (QIS).  Assembly of 2D materials into layered heterostructures is a new nanomaterial synthesis paradigm for creating modular device concepts and realizing new quantum phenomena.  Recent exciting observations of topological states at interfaces in superconductor/semiconductor heterostructures, and engineered superconductivity in twisted graphene bilayers highlight the strong potential of this new synthesis approach.  This workshop will bring together leading researchers in the field to describe the wide range of opportunities for 2D materials in QIS.

Progress in the field of 2D materials is hindered by limitations on the speed and accuracy with which high-quality heterostructures can be prepared, and the availability of advanced techniques for characterizing and tuning heterostructures prior to their full integration into devices.  The goal of this workshop will be bringing together leading researchers, potential or current CFN/NSLS-II users, and CFN/NSLS-II staff in a forum to explore new and emerging strategies for improving the assembly, metrology, and discovery of 2D material heterostructures and their novel quantum properties. This workshop will naturally complement lab efforts towards addressing grand challenges in QIS.

StartsEndsList of Speakers
11:30 AM12:30 PM Lunch Break, (provided)
Workshop Location
12:30 PM12:40 PM Workshop Organizers, BNL
Opening Remarks
12:40 PM1:00 PM Gregory Doerk, Brookhaven National Laboratory
CFN Capabilities for 2D Materials Research in QIS
1:00 PM1:20 PM Claudio Mazzoli, Brookhaven National Laboratory
NSLS-II Capabilities for 2D Materials Research in QIS
1:20 PM2:05 PM Amir Yacoby, Harvard University
New Experimental Approaches for Exploring Condensed Matter Physics in Two Dimensional Materials
2:05 PM2:50 PM Gabriele Grosso, ASCR - CUNY
Spectroscopy of Quantum Emission from Structural Defects in Hexagonal Boron Nitride
2:50 PM3:35 PM Pablo Jarillo-Herrero, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Magic-angle Graphene: A New Platform for Strongly Correlated Physics
3:35 PM4:00 PM Coffee Break, (provided)
Group Photo
4:00 PM4:45 PM Georgios Tritsaris, Harvard University
Some Theoretical Approaches for Complex Surface and Interfaces
4:45 PM5:30 PM Erik Henriksen, Washington University - St. Louis
Making a Mott Insulator Conduct by Proximity to Graphene
5:30 PM6:15 PM Xiaogan Liang, University of Michigan
2D-layered MoS2 Memristors Towards Bio-realistic Synaptic Emulation
6:15 PM7:00 PM Mengkun Liu, Stony Brook University
IR and THz Near-field Nano-imaging and Nano-spectroscopy
7:00 PM  Conclusion and Adjourn, Workshop Organizers